20110122_ Meetings, Meetings, Meetings(2)

Managing meetings right can make life easier for everyone

[Steve ]

@ prepare and plan ahead

 [Chip & Brandon]

@I remember attending my very first meeting as a rookie. I was astonished when the meeting chair threw the very first question at me in front of a room of 30 people. My brain went blank for a good five seconds because I wasn’t prepared. But the chair let me off the hook(to escape from) by jumping to the next person. I was so embarrassed not to be able to answer the question. But that taught me to always be prepared for any meeting I would attend from that day on.
Conversation
Joan (Jo): Are you attending the production committee meeting at 2 p.m.?
Jeff (Je): Yes. But I haven’t received the agenda yet.
Jo: I haven’t either. I think Bruce
is chairing the meeting.
Je: And
he isn’t timely when it comes to sending out agendas.
Jo: I know. And it’s always difficult to prepare then.
Je: Well, at least we know what the projects are. We can make some comments.
Jo: True. But it really helps to know the aspects of the projects Bruce plans to discuss.
Otherwise, we’re all in the dark.
Je: And we look foolish when we don’t participate.
Jo: Maybe I’ll be proactive and
shoot Bruce an e-mail asking for the agenda.
Je: Good idea!

[Rachel& Ken]

@

K: Hey, Rachel.
R: Hi, Ken. How can I help you?
K: I am looking for this town, Wilmington. Do you know where it is?
R: Wilmington. Oh, that is a good distance from here.
K: A good distance from here. What do you mean? How can a distance be good?
R: When you replace the word “good “before a noun, it can be used to emphasize a large number or
a amount of something. So a good distance is a long distance.
K: So Wilmington is a long distance from here.
R: Right. Hey, Ken. When was the last time you had a good cry.
K: A good cry. Is that a bad cry?
R: (Laughter) No, a good cry is a
force(full) substantial cry. Sometimes you feel better after a good cry. When my high school boyfriend broke up with me, I had a good cry. But Then I got over at(it) the next day.
K: Oh, so a good cry did you a lot of good.
R: Yeah.
K: So how else can the sense of good be used?
R: Well. You know that a big house that
would be(was) for sale across the street, I hear somebody paid good money for it.
K: Good money! So somebody paid a large sum of money for the house.
R: You got it. Well, thanks for your help.
K: Now
that I know Wilmington is a good distance away and I’m not gonna bother going there.
R:
Catch gone. Too much you(yeah,don’t,unless you) want to stand five hours on the road.
K: Hmm. No, thanks.

===========================
Good 充分的,十足的,相當的
Good 5 seconds,
足足有5秒鐘之久
A good distance
相當遠的距離
A good cry
痛快的大哭一場
Have a good night sleep,
好好睡一晚
===================================

 

[Liz]

@My brain went blank for a good five seconds because I wasn’t prepared.
good            good here doesn’t mean the opposite of bad, it means full or complete
The driver was late, and I had to wait for a good ten minutes before he showed up.
How did the young child wander so far in the park? That walk had to be a good mile!

 [Michelle]

 

@ let somebody off the hook 擺脫困境,逃避懲罰
Nathan’s boss let him off the hook
this time, but he won’t give Nathan another chance.
Nathan
的老闆讓他這一次就先免去一次懲罰,但是他不會再給他第二次的機會。

@in the dark 毫無頭緒,毫不知情,蒙在鼓裡
The whole company is in the dark about why the previous CEO got replaced.
整個公司對於上一任總裁為什麼被替換的原因毫無頭緒。
He was completely in the dark about why he got fired.
他對於自己被解僱的原因毫不知情。

@proactive (adj) 積極主動的,主動出擊的
Bob decided to take a more proactive role on the team.
Bob
決定在團隊中要採取更主動積極地角色。
The new manager’s proactive approach makes working here much more exciting.
這位新經理主動出擊的方式讓在這裡工作成為更令人興奮的事。

 

 

[Vocabulary & phrase]

rookie (n) 新人
chair (n)
主席
let somebody off the hook
使(某人)擺脫困境
production (n)
生產
be in the dark
蒙在鼓裡,一無所知
proactive (adj)
積極主動的

Astonished, timely, chair, proactive, shoot sb an email, in the dark

 

This entry was posted in Studio_C and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

發表迴響

