20110121_ Meetings, Meetings, Meetings(1)

Managing meetings right can make life easier for everyone

[Steve ]

@ have nothing down, get the same page

[Chip & Brandon]

@

In a large company, many employees work on cross-functional teams, and getting things done on these teams requires meetings. My day-to-day job consists of many meetings, which sometimes leaves me with little time to do my real work.
The first step in initiating a meeting is finding a time
slot that works for everybody that you want to invite. More importantly, you must be sure a meeting room is available at the chosen time. Meeting rooms are booked on a first come, first served basis and fill up quickly. Most of the time, you need to book a room three to five days in advance. Thankfully, not everyone has to be physically present for a meeting. Dial-in numbers are usually provided for those who can’t attend in person.
After the time of the meeting is set, the one who called the meeting sends out the agenda. Giving out the agenda ahead of time is absolutely essential. It not only prepares
the attendees for what to expect, but also encourages them to bring solutions or ideas to the meeting.

[Rachel& Ken]

@

K: Hey, Rachel. What are you reading?
R: Hi, Ken. I’m just looking at the used car ads in newspaper.
K: Used car ads. If you want to drive a different car,
take(get) a new one.
R: Oh, Ken. I have little money saved, so I can’t afford a new car.
K: Well. At less you save
up a little.
R: No, I
’m sad(said) I have little money saved, not saved up a little. I have to borrow money from my parents to buy a used car.
K: Little money! How does
this(is that) different form a little money?
R: If I have a little money saved, I’m happy with how much money I have.
K:
But If I say I have little money saved. I’m saying I barely have any money and I’m not happy with how much money I have.
K: Oh. So the difference is in attitude.
R: Exactly. In fact, little money and a little money could even be exactly the same amount of money. The difference is little has
a negative collocation(connotation) and a little has a much more positive collocation(connotation).
K: What about few and a few?
R: That’s a good question. Why don’t we go to Linda for
an explanation?
K: OK.
L: The difference between few and a few is similar to that of little and a little. If you say I ma
de(met) a few people at this(the) party. It is positive. It implies that you are happy about the number of people you made(met). But if you say you made(met) few people at the party. It is negative. It implies you would like to make(have met) more people.
K: Oh. I see. Well, Rachel. Since you have little money and I have a little money saved up. I can probably sponsor you a few hundreds for that car.
R: Oh. That will be wonderful, Ken. Thank you so much.
K: No problem.

============================
A little 有一點,含有正面含意
Little
幾乎一點也沒有, 帶有負面含意
A few/few
===========================

 [Liz]

@

 [Michelle]

 

@initiate (v) 發起,開始

No one seems to remember who initiated the fight.

似乎沒有人記得是誰先開始吵架的。

The charity organization initiated a food drive for the hurricane victims.

這個公益組織發起了募捐食物的活動來幫助颶風的受災戶。

 

@physically (adv) 親自地

Even though Wesley can’t physically attend the wedding, he will watch the whole ceremony via the Internet.

雖然Wesley沒有辦法親自參加婚禮,但是他會從頭到尾地通過互聯網欣賞整個婚禮的儀式。

 

@agenda (n) 會議議程

The meeting’s agenda was changed at the last minute.

會議的議程到了最後一分鐘改變了。

Getting funding from the banks is high on our agenda for today’s meeting.

如何從銀行得到資助是我們今天會議議程中重要的議題。

 

[Vocabulary & phrase]

consist of something 由…組成

initiate (v) 發起

slot (n) 時段

physically (adv) 身體上,親自

agenda (n) 議程

absolutely (adv) 絕對地

 

agenda, consist of, day-to-day job, physically, initiate, a food drive, slot, cross-functional, in advance

 

This entry was posted in Studio_C and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

發表迴響

