1020_HOW SICK ARE YOU?

When you feel sick, should you stay home?

[Steve & Hazel]

Wear mask

[Chelsea & Chip]

Barbara and Tammy are roommates. Barbara isn’t feeling well this morning. Should she still go to work?
Conversation A
(in the kitchen)
T: Good morning, Barbara. Do you want some coffee?
B: Yes, please. I didn’t sleep well last night.
T: Why?
B: I kept coughing. And my throat is really sore. It’s been sore for two days now.
T:
Do you have fever?
B: No. but I feel lousy.
T: Then you should stay home from work.
B: I can’t. I have too much to do. If I stay home today, I’ll never get caught up.
T: So you’re going to go to work and share your germs with everyone.
B: I’m not that sick. (coughs)
T: You’re not that well either. You need to rest to fight the infection.
B: I’ll be fine. (coughs again) I’ll go to bed as soon as I get home from work.
T: If you don’t feel good, you won’t be able to concentrate at work. You really won’t get very much done.
B: But I’ll get something done, and I’ll be available to answer people’s questions. I have to go; otherwise, others won’t be able to get their jobs done.

[More Information]

A few musical terms to help us understand Chopin’s music include:
Etude: a piece of music made to help students practice a specific skill.
Mazurka: a type of Polish dance that is written in triple meter and has a lively tempo.
Nocturne: a style of music that is inspired by the night and played for an evening party.
Polonaise: a slow dance of Polish origin that is written in triple meter
三拍子.

[Ashley & Ken]

Catch up追上或趕上,本文的I’ll never get caught up.中表示跟得上或趕上進度。如果要表達跟得上什麼進度,後面可以接onex: I need to catch up on schoolwork.我必須要趕上學校的進度;比方你沒睡好,成天昏昏沉沉的,那就表示缺眠狀態開始catch up with you。比方你常常吃垃圾食物,你的體重血壓開始上升,這些不營養的食物開始catch up with you,讓你嘗到了後果,付出了代價。Catch up還可以表示許久未見的朋友,再次相見聊天敘舊,要結束時可以說I’ll catch up with you later.

[Liz]

[課文] If I stay home today, I’ll never get caught up.
= If I stay hone today, I’ll never be able to complete all my unfinished work.
[Tips] to catch up ~ to spend time doing something that hasn’t been done for some time
*I have to catch up on my work because I’ve been on vacation.
*I need to catch up on my reading if I want to be ready for my test next wee

 

 

[Michelle]

Lousy [ˈlauzi] (adj.) [] (= awful) 極壞的,極不適的。
*What lousy weather!
多糟的天氣!
*I wasn’t actually sick but I felt lousy.
我沒有真的感冒但是我感覺不舒服。
Germ (n.)
細菌。他的複數型是用來表示種類,不是代表數量。Germvirus是不一樣的,germ是指細菌,virus是指病毒。
*Avoid germs by always washing your hands before you eat.
為了避免有細菌,用餐前都一定要洗手。
*Alcohol kills most household germs.
酒精可以殺死大多家中的細菌。
Infection (n.) [U]
感染,傳染病。
*They finally got the infection under control after the classroom was sterilized thoroughly.
教室徹底的消毒過後他們終於控制住感染。
*The infection of the wound got worse and the patient needed to be hospitalized immediately.
傷口的感染變得很嚴重病患必須要立即住院。
Otherwise (conj.)
否則,不然。通常前面都會有說明前提的句子。(adv.) 在不同面地。
*You’d better finish your homework; otherwise, you’re not going anywhere.
你最好寫完你的功課,要不然哪裡都別去。
*I hope the weather get better; otherwise, our camping trip will be cancelled.
我希望天氣要變好,要不然我們的露營要被取消了。
*The government claims that the economy is improving, but this survey suggests otherwise.
政府宣稱經濟正在改善中,但是這研究報告從不同面建議。

 

[Vocabulary & phrase]

lousy (adj) 盡是蝨子的;俚】不潔的; 卑鄙的; 討厭的;口】大量的
germ (n)
細菌
infection (n)
感染;傳染病
otherwise (adv)
否則, 不然

 

lousy, catch up with, pass germ, over-reactive, otherwise

This entry was posted in Studio_C and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

發表迴響

