1012_ THE WORLD OF WORK (2)

How prepared can you really be?

[Steve]

Face to face interview

[Chip & Wennie]

My second interview took place on the company’s campus a couple of days later. On the day of the interview, I arrived early, found the right building, and cleared my thoughts (relax myself, clear my mind) before I went in. The interview was an hour long and was more of a behavior interview. The hiring manager wanted to learn about my personality and working style. We clicked in the second round interview, and I felt quite confident going into the last interview.
My third round interview lasted half a day and was conducted (done, organized) by five people from the hiring department. I had to answer all kinds of questions, even some that didn’t
 pertain to (related to, having to do with) the job! One person asked me a brainteaser (logical) question. Another asked me a math question, and luckily that’s one of my strengths. I wasn’t sure if I satisfied every interviewer. However, I tried to just be myself and prove that I was the right fit for the position.
I was thrilled (excited) to receive the offer letter a couple of weeks later – the job was mine!

[Traditional Chinese Translation]

[More Information]

 

[Ashley & Ken]

K: Hey, Ashley. I saw the notice on the bulletin board about an opening here at the library?

A: Yep. We’re interviewing people for the position and I’m conducting the interview. So if you know of anyone who might be qualified, send him or her my way.

K: I have a friend who might be interested in being the interviewer.

A: Uh Ken, I’m the interviewer. If your friend is interested, then he can be an interviewee.

K: Wait a minute. Interviewee? What’s that?

A: An interviewee is someone who is being interviewed.

K: And what about an interviewer?

A: An interviewer is the person conducting the interview.

K: Oh, so the interviewer is the person asking the questions and the interviewee is the one who has to answer the questions?

A: There, you understand.

K: Are there other words like interviewee?

A: Sure. When we add the suffix ee to some verbs, we get words that refer the people who are the passive recipient of the action of the verb. For example, an examinee is someone who receives or takes an exam, a trainee is someone who receives training, an employee is someone who is been employed.

K: And the suffix er refers the person giving the action?

A: That’s right. The suffixes er and or indicates the person initiating an action. So an employer employs an employee. A trainer trains a trainee.

K: So, can I say a murder murders a murderee?

A: No, you can only use this construction with certain verbs.

K: I see. Well, I’ll be sure to ask my friend if he’d like to be an interviewee.

A: And I promise to be a nice interviewer.

 

今天的課文提到interviewer,就是主持面試的面試官,interviewer也可以指採訪者,相對於interviewer就是interviewee(被面試的人或是受訪者)。因此當我們把ee加在某些動詞的後面就會形成接受這個動作的人。像employee就是被employ(僱傭)的人,也就是員工。trainee是被train的人,也就是受訓者。examinee是被exam的人,接受考試的人。但是這個用法並不能夠用於所有的動詞。像mourder(謀殺),雖然murderer是殺人者,但是我們並不能說被殺的人就是muderee,沒有這種用法。
 

[Liz]

I tried to just be myself and prove that I was the right fit for the position.
fit            having the right shape or size to cover something in an exact way
The fit of this jacket isn’t right, it’s too small.
the right fit      
talking about quality
Terrence has trouble working with others, so I don’t think he is the right fit for the job as manager.
Greg is the right fit for the assignment because he has had many years of experience.
I think Brent is
the right fit for Claire; they have many similar interests and really get along well.

[Michelle]

 

click (v) 一見如故,一拍即合
Josh and Samuel totally clicked the first time they met. They became best friends at once.
Josh
Samuel第一次見面就完全一見如故,他們立刻成為最要好的朋友。
Wilma and Tanya didn’t click at first, but they slowly realized that they made a good team.
Wilma
Tanya一開始並沒有很合得來,但是慢慢地他們瞭解他們是非常昊的團隊。
conduct (v)
執行
The project was conducted by one of the top construction companies in the country.
這個項目是由國內最頂尖的建築公司之一所執行的。
The experiment was conducted in the Boston University’s science lab.
這個實驗是在波士頓大學的科學實驗室中所進行的。
pertain (v)
相關,有關      (to)
We’ll only be discussing issues that pertain to our topic today.
我們只會討論和今天主題有關的議題。
The writer’s latest article pertain to racism has caused a lot of controversy.
這個作家最新關於種族歧視的文章引起了許多的爭議。

 

Click

to become friends with somebody at once; to become popular with somebody (與某人)頃刻成為朋友;受(某人)的歡迎 V informal

  • We met at a party and clicked immediately. 我們在聚會上相識,一見如故。
  • He’s never really clicked with his students. 他從未真正受到過他學生的歡迎。

 

click verb (BECOME FRIENDLY)

/klɪk/

[I] informal to become friendly or popular

Liz and I really clicked the first time we met.

The new daytime soap opera has yet to show signs that it’s clicking with the television audience.

 

pertain to something/somebody formal

1.       to be connected with something/somebody 相關;關於

    • the laws pertaining to adoption 有關收養的法律

 

[Vocabulary]

campus (n) 校園,園區
behavior (n)
行為
click (v)
一見如故,進行順利
conduct (v)
執行
pertain (v)
相關,關於
brainteaser (n)
腦筋急轉彎
thrilled (adj)
興奮的,激動的

 

campus, click, behavior, conduct, pertain, brainteaser, thrill, examee, trainee, employee, suffix, racism

 

cleared my thoughts (relax myself, clear my mind)

 

resume, immediate opening, invaluable, priceless, exaggerate, refer, well known, impression on

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

發表迴響

