0828_Luke’s Blog

Discovering the True Beauty of Taiwan and Enjoying My Friendships
With my
tank top on, I am enjoying the heat

[Steve]

Savor is a great word to put and keep in your English vocabulary.

Savor your weekend.

[Chip & Winnie]

Time flies (time goes by quickly) – it is already the last month of my summer break. To start out this crazy month, my friends and I decided to go to Green Island – a famous spot southeast of Taiwan. With its hot weather and beautiful natural resources, Green Island is famous for water sports.
Starting with Taitung (
台東), we spent a day visiting some famous tourist sites. The next day we went to Green Island. I was fascinated by the island’s beauty: natural, simple and lovely. The sun burned my skin and sweat dampened(make a little bit wet) my shirt, but I loved the feeling, especially with great friends at my side.
After the Green Island trip, another group of friends took me to a beach in northern Taiwan: Baishawan (
白沙灣). With its white sandy shores, Baishawan is a great place for college students to hang out (to spend a lot of time in a place 常去某處;泡在某處).
Here I am at the end of the month, recalling my four months of summer break. I know it is time to say goodbye. I don’t want to go, but my studies are calling me.
Savoring (Taste and enjoy it) completely the love of friends and family, I realize what is most important to me.

[Traditional Chinese Translation]

人是故鄉親
我穿著背心,享受著暑熱

     
時光飛逝,已經到了暑假最後一個月了。為了在這個月玩個痛快,我和朋友們決定從綠島開始玩起。綠島是台灣東南方的著名景點,氣候炎熱,有著優美的天然資源,並以水上活動著稱。
     
我們先在台東待了一天,造訪一些名勝,次日就到綠島。島上自然、簡樸、可愛的美景相當令我著迷。雖然太陽曬傷我的肌膚,汗水濕透我的襯衫,但我熱愛這種感覺,特別是超級麻吉就在我身邊一起分享。
     
綠島之旅後,另一群朋友帶我到北台灣的一處海灘:白沙灣。這裡有著白色的沙灘,很適合大學生在此流連。
     
現在已到了月底,我回憶著這四個月的暑假,心裡清楚是告別的時候了,雖然不願離開,但我還有學業等著我完成。回味著朋友與家人的愛之際,我瞭解什麼對我而言才是最重要的了。
[More Information]

[Ashley & Ken]

A: Hey, Ken. Are you almost finished?
K: Hmm, what? Where are you going, Ashley?
A: Umm, Ken. It’s 9 o’clock and the library is closed now.
I’m leaving.
K: Oh, I lost track of time. Well, I have to go.
A: Time flies when you’re having fun.
K: Time flies? It doesn’t fly, Ashley.
A: No, but it goes by very quickly when you’re doing something fun.
K: Well, I agree that time flies but I wasn’t really having any fun. I was trying to finish writing something for work.
A:
Are you pressed for time? That means you don’t have a lot of time to finish it.
K: Well then yes. I’m pressed for time.
This is due tomorrow morning.
A: You
 shouldn’t put things off to the last minute, but I can relate to that. Time and again I wait until the last minute.
K: Time and again?
A: Yes, time and again means I repeat something. Time and again, people lose their library cards.
K: Ashley,
I heard people say the third time is a charm. What does that mean?
A: That means that
the third time you will be successful. The first two times you may fail but the third time will be much better.
K: Well, I’m going to remember that one. This is the second time I’ve turned something in late for work.
A: The third time is a charm. So the next time
you’ll meet the deadline(按時完工).
K: I hope so.
A:嘿,肯。你幾乎完成了嗎?
K
教授:嗯,什麼?你要去哪裡,阿什利?
答:嗯,肯。這是9點和圖書館已經關門了。我要走了。
克:噢,我失去了追踪的時間。嗯,我得走了。
答:時光荏苒,當您獲得樂趣。
K
教授:時光飛逝?它不飛,阿什利。
答:沒有,但它的推移很快當你做一些事的樂趣。
克:嗯,我同意時光飛逝,但我是不是真的有任何樂趣。我想寫完的東西工作。
答:你按下的時間?這意味著你沒有很多時間來完成它。
K
教授:那麼肯定的。我時間緊迫。這是因為明天早上。
答:你不應該拖延下去到最後一刻,但我可以涉及這一點。一次又一次,我等待著,直到最後一分鐘。
K教授:一次又一次?
答:是的,我一次又一次重複的東西的手段。一次又一次,人們失去了圖書證。
K教授:阿什利,我聽人說,第三次是一種魅力。這是什麼意思?
答:這意味著,第三次你一定會成功。前兩個時期你可能會失敗,但第三次會更好。
克:嗯,我會記住這一個。這是我第二次把他們的一些事,上班遲到。
答:第三次是一種魅力。因此,下一次你會見到的最後期限。
K:我希望如此。
今天這一課一開始就看到一個很實用的短語time flies(光陰似箭),其實,講得完整一點你可以說Time flies when you’re having fun.當你在玩耍的時候時間過得特別快。再來學幾個跟time相關的短語,lose track of time是沒有注意到時間,to be pressed for time是有時間上的壓力,也就是時間有限,time and again其實就等於again and again,表示時常、常常發生的,third time is a charm表示第三次會有好運氣,如果有一件事當你試了兩次都失敗時,第三次你可以說third time’s a charm,意思就是希望第三次會是成功的。

[Liz]

[課文] I was fascinated by the island’s beauty: natural, simple and lovely.
[Tips] when you are writing and you need to include things try using a colon.
a colon is used to introduce a list
*For the hike, please pack: a water bottle, an extra jacket, some snacks, and a flashlight.
*The apartment had everything I was looking for: great view, large rooms, good location, and a reasonable price.

[Michelle]

 

Natural resources (plural n.) 天然資源。
*Alaska boasts abundant natural resources such as natural gas and oil.
阿拉斯加擁有豐富的天然資源像天然氣和石油。

boast verb (HAVE)

/bəʊst/ /boʊst/

[T not continuous] to have or own something to be proud of

Ireland boasts beautiful beaches, great restaurants and friendly locals.

*Regulations have been designed to protect our natural resources.
法規的設計為了保護我們的天然資源。
Dampen (v.) 1.弄濕(但不是整個濕透)2. make (sth) less strong; restrain 減弱,抑制。
*The chief dampened a towel to cover the dough.
主廚弄濕一條毛巾包覆著麵糰。
*After the rain dampened my jacket, I
hung it up to let it dry.
我的夾克被雨弄濕之後,我把它晾起來風乾。
*dampen (down) sb’s spirits, enthusiasm, etc
打擊某人的情緒,熱情等。
Savor (v.) 原意指品嚐,這裡指欣賞或享受。(n.) 滋味,風趣,愛好。
*Timothy knows how to savor his success.
Timothy
很懂得如何享受自己的成功。
*When Rita went to Paris she
savored every moment of the trip.
Rita去巴黎時她好好的享受旅行的每分每秒。
*the savor of country life
農村生活的風味。
Tank top (n.) 緊身短背心。
Hang out (phr. V.) 1. (informal) to spend a lot of time in a particular place or with particular people 閒晃。2. to hang clothes outside in order to dry them 掛出。
補充口語: How is it hanging? 最近過的如何
*I don’t really know who she hangs out with.
我真的不知道她跟誰出去晃。
*Where do the youngsters hang out?
青少年都到哪閒晃呢?
*Hang the wet things out to dry.
把濕的東西掛出去風乾。

 

due

when a sum of money is due, it must be paid immediately 到期 not usually before noun

  • Payment is due on 1 October. 付款期限為 10 1 日。

southeast adjective adverb 

/ˌsaʊθˈiːst/ (written abbreviation SE)

in or towards the southeast

Southeast Asia

The mountains are/lie southeast of the city.

 

[Vocabulary]

natural resources (pl n) 天然資源;自然資源 Saudi Arabia is most famous for one of its natural resources: oil.
dampen (v)
弄濕;使潮濕 Dampen your washcloth with a little water before putting soap on it.
hang out (phr v)
流連;消磨時間 Last Saturday night, my friends and I hung out at the local coffee shop.
savor (v)
回味;享受 We sat on the beach and savored the sight of the sun setting over the ocean. 

tank top, savor, hang out, hang up, southeast, dampen, natural resources, boast

This entry was posted in Studio_C and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

發表迴響

