7_26_LUKE’S BLOG

How have I changed and what have I learned?  More mature and more independent

Steve

 

Chelsea & Chip

        I am sitting with an iced caramel macchiato reflecting on the time between the day I left for America and now. How have I changed and what have I learned? I am
speechless. This past year’s experience is too overwhelming to express in words. But without a doubt, it has made me more mature and independent. Many people have the misconception that students who study abroad must be extremely brave,
independent and well-prepared. The truth is no one is ready when they depart. I did not have the best English performance in my high school.


overwhelming adjective 

/ˌəʊ.vəˈwel.mɪŋ/ /ˌoʊ.vɚ-/

•difficult to fight against

She felt an overwhelming urge/desire/need to tell someone about what had happened.

•very great or very large

She said how much she appreciated the overwhelming generosity of the public in responding to the appeal.

An overwhelming majority have voted in favour of the proposal.

 


I was a normal student who studied the same materials as thousands of other students. Studying abroad made me grow and learn to be independent. The
environment made me more mature, so I could take care of myself. I learned to try new things in life; I learned how to dream big. I am still desperate to learn and grow; I am studying with a purpose. I saw the value of friendships; I saw the significance of helping others. I seek a higher academic performance; I seek consistent personal growth. This is what I learned this year. What have you learned?

 

Deep satisfaction, pleasure

 

 

desperate adjective (WANTING)

/ˈdes.pər.ət/ /-pɚ-/

[usually after verb] needing or wanting something very much

They are desperate for help.

humorous I’m desperate for a drink!

[+ to infinitive] He was desperate to tell someone his good news.

 

 

 

Ken & Ashley

What a nightmare. = difficult or frustrated situation

Do something frustrated happen?

Someone took all these books out of shelf and put them back in wrong order.

I think so. = I think I have.

I learned how to dream big.
dream
夢想;渴望, positive dream
bad dream
惡夢 = nightmare
What a nightmare.
惡夢般的狀況 

 

Liz

But without a doubt, it has made me more mature and independent.
without a doubt = with certainty=beyond any doubt= undoubtedly
Beyond any doubt, it has made me more mature and independent.
Undoubtedly, it has made me more mature and independent.
That movie is undoubtedly the worst movie I’ve seen.
Gloria is without a doubt the fastest runner in my school.
The suspect is guilty beyond any doubt.

Michelle

overwhelming (adj) 壓倒的; 勢不可擋的
overwhelm (v)
戰勝; 征服; 壓倒
The sudden wealth and fame was too overwhelming for the singer.
突然的財富和名望讓這位歌手無法承受。

§  She was overwhelmed by feelings of guilt. 她感到愧疚難當。

§  He felt completely overwhelmed by their kindness. 他們的好心讓他受寵若驚。

§  The beauty of the landscape overwhelmed me. 秀麗的風光令我深深地陶醉。

He had the overwhelming urge to tell the truth.
他有一種強烈的願望想要說出真相。
misconception (n)
誤解;錯誤想法
conception (n)
概念, 觀念; 想法
The article’s purpose is to clear up the misconception of minorities.
這篇文章的目的就是要消除少數人的誤解。
Nancy had the misconception that only money can make people satisfied.
Nancy
過去有誤解認為僅金錢可以讓人滿足。
desperate (adj)
極度渴望的;極度需要的
Patricia is desperate to please everyone.
Patricia
是絕望的取悅大家。

Our company is desperate for financial help.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

發表迴響

